Haryana Corona Relief Fund

School Competitions


 Haryana Renewable Energy Development Agency (HAREDA) organized a State Level Essay Writing Competition for the students of 6th to 8th standard of the State on 8th December2009 at the Govt. Girls Senior Secondary School, Sector-15, Panchkula.   The topic for the Essay was “Solutions for the Energy Crisis@ ÅtkZ ladV dk gy   About 18000 students from 960 schools from all over the State participated in the competition and 50 best entries were selected for the State Level Essay Writing Competition. At District level, the First prize carried a cash prize of Rs. 1500/, Second prize Rs. 1000/-, Third prize Rs. 750/- and two consolation prizes of Rs. 500/- each. For the state level competition, 1st prize of Rs.21,000/-, 2nd prize of Rs.15,000/-, 3rd prize of Rs.11,000/- and 12 consolation prizes of Rs.2000/- each is being given.

Out of the selected 50 entries, the State Level first prize of Rs. 21,000/- was bagged by Rohit,  Class-VI, Satyanand Public School, Gohana, Sonepat, second prize of Rs. 15,000/- was won by Manpreet Kaur, Class-VIIIth, Partap Public School, Karnal and third prize of Rs. 11,000/- was won by Pinki, Class-VIII th, Govt. Senior Secondary School, Kherki Daula, Gurgaon. In addition to these, consolation prizes of Rs. 2000/- each were won by 11 students.


Report on School Level Essay Writing Competition on Energy Conservation – 2009

State / UT - Haryana

Nodal Officer - B.S Yadav, Additional Director

No. of Entries received (2 selected entries from schools) - 1920

No. of Students Participated - 17,772

No. of Schools Participated - 960

Feedback / Remarks - The Competition was very well organized   & Students   from Rural & Urban schools participated in the competition with great enthusiasm. The competition helped to create awareness among the students.


Signature of the Nodal Officer


Result of the State Level Essay Writing Competition on Energy Conservation – 2009, List of 14 selected students from State Level Essay Writing Competition

State / UT- Haryana

Nodal Officer- B.S Yadav, Additional Director

Sr. No. Name of the Student Class School District Prize
1 Rohit VI Satyanand Public School, Gohana Sonipat Ist  
2 Manpreet Kaur VIII Pratap Public School, Karnal IInd  
3 Pinki VIII Govt. Sr.Sec.School, Kherki Daula Gurgaon IIIrd
4 Gurleen VII Maharana Pratap Public School Kurukshetra Consolation
5 Sakshi Kulshreshtha VIII Modern Vidya Niketan Faridabad Consolation
6 Kushagra Aggarwal VIII Springfield Public School, Jagadhri Y.Nagar Consolation
7 Sonia VIII Govt.Sr.Sec.School, Shamdo Jind Consolation
8 Teena VIII Govt.High School, Baroli Jind Consolation
9 Shriya Dhingra VIII OSDAV Public School Kaithal Consolation
10 Sonu VIII Govt. High School, Hamindpur Narnaul Consolation
11 Sunder VII GSSS, Bhanakpur Faridabad Consolation
12 Surabhi Rawat VIII CLDAV Panchkula Consolation
13 Subhra VI Cambridge Public School Rewari Consolation
14 Deepti Nakra VIII Anand Public School Y.Nagar Consolation


Signature of the Nodal Officer




To inculcate interest among the students of class 10th to 12th about renewable energy sources/technologies/devices, carbon credit, ozone hole, environment and sustainable development etc and to create awareness about Energy Conservation, the Department of Renewable Energy, Haryana/HAREDA organizes a quiz competition every year. This competition also serves the following objectives:



  • To create deep sense of curiosity
  • To create critical observation
  • To create keenness to get to the root of a problem
  • Freedom from bias
  • Willingness to change on being convinced
  • Making learning of renewable energy technologies through fun and entertainment.

  During the year 2009-10 the quiz contest on Renewable Energy and Energy Conservation was organized at DAV Public School, Sector-3, Urban State, Kurukshetra on 24.02.10. In this competition 32 students of 16 schools from 16 districts had participated. At district level, 640 students had participated in the quiz competition. The names of the winner of the state level quiz competition are as under:  

S.No. Name of District Prize Name of the School Name of the Students of the Team Prize Amount
1. Hisar First Prize G.S.S.S. Satrod Khurd, Hisar Neelam Kumari 20,000/-
Nitu Sharma
2. Jind Second Prize DAV Centenary Public School, Jind Sachin Redhu 16,000/-
Keshav Garg
3. Fatehabad Third Prize G.S.S.S. Fatehabad Yogesh Goyal   10,000/-
Yatin Juneja  
4. Sirsa Consolation Prize C.N. DAV Sr. Sec. School, Mandi Dabwali Palak 6,000/-
Bhupinder Singh
      Total   52,000/-